Palpa, Jhapa prepare for JUNE 14 elections

- Post Report, PALPA/JHAPA

May 18, 2017-

With the second phase of the local elections slated to take place on June 14 in provinces 1, 2, 5 and 7, political parties in Palpa (Province 5) have begun preparations for the D-Day.

Various political parties in the district are busy picking their candidates and in campaign activities these days. The major political parties have started door-to-door canvassing after finalising the candidates.

Bir Bahadur Rana, district president of Nepali Congress, said the party has nominated Ajayaman Karmacharya and Lal Kumari Rana for the positions of mayor and deputy mayor in Tansen Municipality. In Rampur Municipality, he said, the NC is fielding Raman Thapa and Bishnu Devi Acharya as mayor and deputy mayor candidates respectively. The party has also finalised the nominees for the representatives of other local units. 

The NC was the last party to finalise its candidates for the upcoming polls. Other parties like CPN-UML, CPN (Maoist Centre), Rastriya Janamorcha and Rastriya Prajatantra Party have already unveiled the names of their candidates.     

There are two municipalities and eight village councils in Palpa. 

In Jhapa (Province 1), 31 political parties have registered their names at the District Election Office for the June 14 polls.

According to the office, NC, UML,  Maoist Centre), Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Sadbhawana Party, Nepal Loktantrik Forum and Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum Nepal, among others, have already registered for the elections.  

Other political forces like Naya Shakti Nepal and Bibeksheel Nepali Party, Rastriya Janamorcha, Rastriya Shiva Sena and Nepal Communist Party (United) are also in the fray.

Published: 18-05-2017 08:21

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment