Local elections 2017

- Post Report, Kathmandu

May 20, 2017- 

(From left) Seema Chhetri, woman mayor, Putalibazaar Municipality, Syangja; Gagan Singh Sunar, mayor, Lekbeshi Municipality, Surkhet; and Dev Kumar Nepali, mayor of Dhorpatan Municipality, Baglung on Friday. All of them represent the CPN-UML. Their closest rivals were from the Nepali Congress. 

Chhetri garnered 10,249 votes against Tulasi Ram Regmi who secured 9,020 votes. Nepali with 2,692 votes beat Arjun Sherchan by 746 votes. Similarly, Sunar secured 5,753 votes against Umesh Poudel who managed to garner 4,399 votes. 

The UML has remained frontrunner so far winning more than 100 mayoral and deputy mayoral posts in 34 districts of three provinces—3, 4, and 6—where local level elections were held on Sunday. post photos

Published: 20-05-2017 06:28

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment