11 elected unopposed

- Post Report, BAJHANG/RUKUM
Election Officer Gyanendra Iteni says the candidates will be declared winners following the due process

Jun 20, 2017-As many as nine candidates from the CPN-UML and the CPN (Maoist Centre) have been elected unopposed in Bajhang and Rukum districts during the second phase of local level elections.

A UML panel was elected at Ward 5 of Kanda Village Council in Bajhang as there were no contenders. The nomination of candidates for the June 28 polls was over in provinces 1, 5 and 7 on Sunday.

UML ward chairman candidate Dhananjaya Bohara, female member Aammara Bohara, open category members Dabal Bohara and Kalu Bohara were elected unopposed. There was no candidacy for the Dalit quota as there are no Dalits in the village.

Nepali Congress candidate Amrita BK was elected unopposed as the Dalit woman representative in Kanda-4 since she had no competitor. Election Officer Birendra KC confirmed their victory.

In Rukum, six ward members of the Maoist Centre were elected in Wards 6 and 7 of Bhume and Putharganga village councils. Only the Maoist Centre had fielded ward members in Bhume-7. Man Kumari Budha, Ram Kumari Sunar, Dhaniman Budha and Rupdhan Kami have no opposition in Bhume-7 while Dalit candidates Mina Sunar and Rampura Kami had uncontested victory in Bhume-6 and Putharganga-6, respectively.

Election Officer Gyanendra Iteni said the candidates would be declared winners following the due process. In Darchula, a Dalit ward candidate was elected unopposed from Byas Village Council-5.

Published: 20-06-2017 07:58

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment