Lions, Tigers triumph

  • asian club premier league twenty20
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Jun 21, 2017-

Sri Lankan Lions and Bangladesh Tigers won their respective matches of the Asian Club Premier League (ACPL) Twenty20 on Tuesday. 

Lions defeated Indian Stars by 53 runs after making 154-7 in 20 overs on the back of a half century from Nishan Samarakkody. The highest scorer then returned to pick up three wickets as Indian stars were dismissed for just 101 runs in 15 overs. 

Man-of-the-match Samarak-kody returned with the figures of 3-15, while Karan Walia also took 3-7 for the winning side. Aakash Goutal had the figures of 2-21. Amar Karanwal was the leading scorer for Stars making a 20-ball 19, while Kuldeep Singh (nine) and Gurmeet Singh (nine) were their next best scorers. 

Earlier, Samarakkody made 59 off 44 balls for Lions as Vishva Gayashan (33) and Dinesh Nakrani (30) also chipped in invaluable runs to help the team cross 150-run mark. Kuldeep, Karanwal and Puneet Bhati picked up a wicket each for the Stars. 

In the first match of the day that was reduced to 18-over-a-side due to rain, Tigers edged Afghanistan Bulls by three runs. Batting first, Tigers made 101-8 after Quazi Zeeshan Ahmed made 27 runs. Bulls, in reply, were restricted to 98-7. 

Former Pakistani fast bowler Rana Naved Ul Hasan was the pick of the Bulls bowlers taking 3-9 from four overs. Pawan Yadav had the figures of 2-13 from three overs. For Tigers, Karan Gupta also made 17 unbeaten runs from 13 balls. Sanjog Binkar (12), Sagir Ul Hasan (10) and Mohammad Karim (12) also made runs in double figures.

The tournament was originally schedule to begin from Monday with Nepal Storms taking on Dubai Warrios but the organisers could only hold the opening ceremony due to less preparation time. 

Published: 21-06-2017 08:53

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment