Media’s role crucial in nation building: PM

- Rastriya Samachar Samiti, Kathmandu

Aug 21, 2017-

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has said that the media sector has played a significant role for the consolidation of democratic republic in the country. 

Inaugurating the 25th General Convention of the Federation of Nepali Journalists in the Capital on Sunday, the PM said the journalism sector has had a very important contribution to the changes that have taken place in various points of time in the country, and called for more contribution from the sector in the nation building process. 

Speaking on the occasion, Deuba said: “There are many media in Nepal, they are financially weak and I understand well the difficulties in journalism.”

Stating that the constitution has guaranteed the right to expression and full press freedom, he said that all the elections should be held as per schedule for implementing the new constitution. 

Also speaking at the programme, Minister for Information and Communications Mohan Bahadur Basnet expressed the commitment to enforce media policy and the minimum wage of working journalists. He, however, stressed the need to make the journalism sector respected as well as independent. UML leader Yogesh Bhattarai, NC leader Prakash Sharan Mahat and CPN (Maoist Centre) leader Pampha Bhusal also extended best wishes for the success of the general convention. A total of 1,515 journalists are participating in the general convention that will elect a 45-member new working committee for a three-year term. Around 10,000 journalists are associated with the FNJ, an umbrella organisation of journalists from across the country. 

At the inaugural function, PM Deuba presented the ‘Krishna Prasad Bhattarai National Journalism Award, established by FNJ, to journalist Bijay Kumar Pandey. The award carries a purse of Rs100,000. 

‘Govinda Biyogi National Journalism Award’ and ‘Krishna Sen ‘Ichchuk’ National Journalism Award’ were presented to senior journalist Bhairab Risal and Komal Baral respectively. Each award carries a purse of Rs50,000. 

Likewise, journalist Seema Singh Sharma was awarded with the ‘Uma Singh National Journalism Award’ while Pushkar Thapa was posthumously presented ‘Gauri Kathayat Memorial Journalism Award’. Each award carries a purse of Rs25,000. The ‘Freedom Fighter Award’ was presented to 12 persons, including Harsha Subba (Sunsari), Ashok Rauniyar (Dhanusa), Basanta Pokharel (Rupandehi) and Ram Bahadur KC (Sindhupalchok).

Published: 21-08-2017 07:48

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment