Registered at EC, RJP-N seeks ‘umbrella’ for fed, provincial polls

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Aug 27, 2017-

With the Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal registering for the upcoming polls, the Election Commission has listed 64 political parties as of Saturday evening, according to EC officials.

The deadline to register parties for provincial and federal parliamentary elections expires on Sunday. The RJP-N announced on Thursday to participate in all the polls while continuing with its agitation for implementation of its agendas. The government has announced to hold both the polls together on November 26.

A team led by RJP-N coordinator Mahantha Thakur reached the EC for party registration. Members of the presidium Mahendra Yadav, Sharat Singh Bhandari and Rajendra Mahato accompanied Thakur to the poll authority. 

However, two members—Anil Jha and Rajkishor Yadav—failed to show up. Jha is not happy with the party’s decision to participate in the third phase of local level elections scheduled for September 18 in Province 2 while the conglomerate of six Madhes-based partied boycotted the first two rounds of the vote.

According to an EC official, the RJP-N, which is contesting the local elections with “bicycle” as its election symbol, has sought “umbrella” for the provincial and the federal parliamentary polls. 

But the symbol is contested at the Supreme Court by Janashakti Nepal Party, which earlier demanded the EC provide it with “umbrella inside a circle” as the election symbol. The Supreme Court on July 24 asked the EC to explain why the fringe party led by Ram Kumar Ojha was not given the election symbol. 

Further hearing on the case has been postponed frequently.

Published: 27-08-2017 07:38

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment