Lions claim inaugural MCL T20

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Sep 17, 2017-

Down Town Pokhara Lions claimed the inaugural edition of the Machhapuchhre Cricket League Twenty20 defeating Parbat Titans by eight wickets at the MCC grounds in Pokhara on Saturday. 

Electing to bat first, Titans were restricted to 99-9 in 20 overs after they failed to cope with a disciplined bowling effort from Lions bowlers. A composed half century from man-of-the-match Sudeep Poudel helped Lions reach 103-2 in 17.5 overs. The title made Lions richer by Rs 300,000 and Titans took home Rs 150,000. 

Lions were shell shocked after they lost opener R Baral (duck) in the first over. Poudel did most of the scoring anchoring the innings with Lal Bahadur Thapa (eight) 

as the duo shared 40-run 

partnership for the second wicket. After Agendra Chhantyal trapped Thapa leg before, Arun Adhikari joined Poudel at the centre and 

two took Lions across the finishing line. 

Poudel and Adhikari got involved in an unbroken 59-run third wicket stand to deny Titans the victory. Poudel hit five sixes and a boundary in his 59-ball 56 not out, while Adhikari struck two sixes and a four to make 23-ball 27. 

Titans were beaten by Lions in the first Qualifier and Saturday’s final was a perfect platform for them to avenge the defeat in style but they faltered after losing wickets at regular intervals in the final. They had a modest start with openers Chhantyal (13) and Paras Lamichhane adding 31 runs in 6.4 overs but the middle order batsmen failed to build on the stand. 

Lamichhane made 18 from 15 with two sixes and a four. Deepen Rayamajhi was Titans second best scorer making 16 form 19 balls with a six and a four, while No 4 batsman Abhishek Thapa was stranded on 15 off 27 when their innings came to a close. Suraj Shrestha (12) also made runs in double figures. For Lions, Himal Gaha and Biru Gurung picked up two wickets each. 

Machhapuchhre Lions skipper Dipesh Khatri took the player-of-the-series award and got Rs 20,00. Khatri was also adjudged the best batsman with 179 runs, while Lions’ Gurung was named the best bowler with 12 wickets. The duo got Rs 10,000 each. 

The tournament was organised jointly by Machhapuchhre Cricket Club and Pokhara Ent, had witnessed the auction of cricketers.


Published: 17-09-2017 07:15

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment