Vijay recalled for Sri Lanka Test series

- Agence France-Presse, MUMBAI

Oct 24, 2017-

Selectors recalled experienced opener Murali Vijay to India’s Test squad on Monday for the first two matches of a three-Test series against Sri Lanka which starts next month.

The right-hander has recovered from a wrist injury that forced him to miss India’s recent tour of their island neighbour, when Virat Kohli’s side crushed the Sri Lankans 3-0. Left-handed Abhinav Mukund makes way for the 33-year-old Vijay in what is the only change to India’s Test squad from the one fielded against Sri Lanka.

Spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are joined by Kuldeep Yadav, who has impressed since taking four wickets in his Test debut against Australia in Dharamsala in March. Ashwin and Jadeja have been rested from India’s limited-overs side after selectors decided to give younger bowlers a chance in the run-up to the 2019 World Cup. Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar will lead the hosts’ speed attack.

The squad for the third and final Test will be named later, with Indian media reporting that Kohli could be rested for the game and the subsequent limited-overs series before India start South Africa tour. India and South Africa are scheduled to play three Tests, six ODIs and three T20s from early January to late February.

The first India-Sri Lanka Test takes place in Kolkata from November 16-20. They travel to Nagpur for the second match, which starts on November 24. The final Test will be played in Delhi between December 2-6.


Test squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Lokesh Rahul, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

T20 squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (vice-Captain), Lokesh Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Mohammed Siraj.

Published: 24-10-2017 09:27

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment