SSF-N, RJP-N finalise seats for Province 2

  • Elections 2017
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Nov 1, 2017-

Two Madhes-based parties—Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal (SSF-N) and Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal (RJP-N)—have finalised seats for Province 2 for the upcoming federal and provincial elections, consolidating their alliance in the province with 32 federal constituencies and 64 provincial constituencies.

As per a deal reached between the two parties, the SSF-N led by Upendra Yadav will field its candidates in 17 federal constituencies while the RJP-N, a unified force of six Madhesi parties under Mahantha Thakur, will contest from the remaining 15 federal constituencies.



The SSF-N’s Bimal Prasad Yadav will contest from Parsa-2. The two parties also reached an understanding on Tuesday to field SSF-N candidates in 33 provincial seats and RJP-N candidates in 31 seats based on the votes received during the third phase of local elections. RJP-N General Secretary Keshav Jha said the two parties will hold talks with the NC about forming an alliance in other constituencies, particularly those where the left alliance’s chances of victory are high.

SSF-N Chairman Upendra Yadav is set to contest from Saptari-2 while RJP-N Coordinator Thakur will fight from Mahottari-3.

Leaders, however, said the parties might have to work hard to stop some rebel candidates in some constituencies, as the number of aspirants in both the parties is high. 

RJP-N Joint General Secretary Prakash Thakur is learnt to have set his sight on Saptari-2 against Yadav.



Local leaders ‘disappointed’

RAJBIRAJ: Local leaders of the Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal and the Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal are disappointed at the seat-sharing arrangement between the two parties.

The leaders and cadres stood against the deal minutes after top leaders of the parties reached the agreement. Seeking priority for “honest” leaders and cadres in ticket distribution, RJP-N leaders had announced independent candidates. Speaking at a programme at Gajendra Chowk on Tuesday, RJP-N Joint General Secretary Jaya Prakash Thakur had announced his independent candidacy from Saptari-2 in the federal parliamentary polls. (PR)

Published: 01-11-2017 07:45

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment