NC’s Thapa renewing rivalry with UML’s Adhikari in Kaski-1

- Dipak Pariyar, LEKHNATH (KASKI)

Nov 5, 2017-

Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Yagya Bahadur Thapa and former health minister Khagraj Adhikari have been nominated in Kaski-1 for the federal election. 

Thapa is contesting from the Nepali Congress, while Adhikari is a CPN-UML candidate from the left alliance. This is a second time that Thapa and Adhikari, both of whom had   twice become district chairman of their respective parties, are facing off each other in the elections in the constituency. 

In the first Constituent Assembly elections, Maoist leader Dev Gurung had defeated Thapa and Adhikari. Gurung is contesting the poll from Lamjung district this time around. The NC has won three out of five elections held in Kaski-1 since the restoration of democracy in 1990, with the UML and the Maoists each taking the honours once. Thapa had won the second Constituent Assembly election from the constituency, while Adhikari had won the election in 2051BS. 

According to the District Election Office, there are 96,099 registered voters in the constituency-1. 

During the second Constituent Assembly election, the NC had secured 15,832 votes as against UML’s 15,560 and Maoists’ 6,475. There were only four constituencies in Kaski at the time of the second CA elections. 

Published: 05-11-2017 07:50

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment