Recalled Gurung announces retirement

- Post Report, Lalitpur

Nov 14, 2017-

Striker Anil Gurung and midfielder Jagjeet Shrestha were included in the 23-member Nepali national football team announced on Monday on the eve of their AFC Asian Cup Qualifiers match against Philippine. 

Gurung, who will also wear the captain’s armband, has been out of the team since Nepal hosted Yemen on June 13. He was ignored for a double header against Tajikistan due to “injury.” 

On a day of his recall Gurung, however, annnounced that he will bring the curtain down to his decade-long career after the Philippines match. The 31-year-old said: “It was not an easy decision but it is the appropriate time since young players are coming in.”  Gurung will also reach 50-cap milestone on Tuesday. “Football has provided me a lot. But I always regret not winning the Saff Champin-ship,” added Gurung who has scored nine goals for Nepal.  

Gurung, who marked his international debut during the 2007 World Cup Qualifiers against Oman, wore the captain’s armband since 2015 Saff Championship in Trivandrum, India. He is just the handful of Nepali players to reach the 50-match milestone. But following the Saff campaign, he has got very less playing time and has been in and out of the team. 

Besides Gurung, winger Jagjeet Shrestha and goalkeeper Bishal Shrestha also marked their comeback to the team. Goalkeeper Allan Neupane and defenders Aditya Chaudhary and Devendra Tamang were the players who were left out of the squad that played against Tajikistan on Oct 10. Winger Shrestha has been out of the national team for the last one and half year. Asked about his recall, Koji said: “Anfa has called him and you should ask them on how he was drafted in,” said the coach. (PR)


Nepali Squad

Goalkeeper: Kiran Limbu, Bikesh Kutu, Bishal Shrestha

Defender: Biraj Maharjan, Rohit Chand, Ananta Tamang, Kamal Shrestha, Jitendra Karki, Rajendra Rawal, Dinesh Rajbanshi

Midfielder: Sujal Shrestha, Bishal Rai, Bikram Lama, Anjan Bista, Jagjeet Shrestha, Heman Gurung, Hemant Thapa Magar, Sunil Bal

Forward: Bharat Khawas, Bimal Gharti Magar, Anil Gurung, Nawayug Shrestha, George Prince Karki 

Published: 14-11-2017 08:36

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment