Print Edition - 2017-11-24  |  Life & Style

Film Critics’ Awards distributed

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Nov 24, 2017-

The Film Critics’ Awards, hosted by the umbrella organisation of Nepali film critics, Film Critics’ Society of Nepal, has been handed over to awardees amid a function held at Shilpee Theatre in Kathmandu. 

The awards were presented gauging the performances of artists and films in the year 2071, 2072, and 2073 BS. 

Kalo Pothi was declared the best movie of 2072; while the Best Screenplay Award was conferred to Min Bahadur Bham and Awinash Bikram Shah, who co-wrote the film. Ajij Jambhakar was awarded for the Best Cinematography for the same film. 

The Best Director Award for the year 2073 went to Deepak Rauniyar for White Sun. While Maotse Gurung’s won the Best Actor Award for the movie Purano Dunga; Keki Adhikary was declared the Best Actress award for her performance in Love Sasha. 

For the year 2072, Pashupati Prashad was declared the best movie. For the same movie, Khagendra Lamichhane and Dipendra K Khanal were honoured for their screenplay and direction, respectively.

Saugat Malla and Rishma Gurung were felicitated with medals for their acting in Fanko and Kabbadi Kabbadi respectively.

While Sailendra D Karki was acclaimed the best cinematographer for Kabbadi Kabbadi; the Best Editor award went to Surendra Poudel for Classic.

Likewise, Kabbadi was declared the best movie for 2071. Actors from the same movie, Rambabu Gurung and Upendra Subba, won prizes for their excellent screenplay.

Nischal Basnet’s direction in the movie Talakjung Vs Tulke was declared the best and the awards for best actor and actress were achieved respectively by Dayahang Rai for Kabbadi and Priyanka Karki for Suntali. Banish Shah and Milan Shrestha were awarded for their editing in the movie Tandav and Ondra Belika bagged a prize for shooting in Suntali. And Jesan Kunwar won an award for his playback singing in the movie Talakjung Vs Tulke.

The awards for 2071, 2072 and 2073 were distributed by Film director Yadav Kharel, Member of Film Development Board Uttam KC and Veteran actress Bhuwan Chand respectively. 

Speaking at the program, Yadav Kharel said that artists would be encouraged if Film Critics would organise such programmes. “These days, awards are distributed so amply and in so many categories.” Kharel said, “The critics have done a right job by assessing only the major categories.” Kharel also shared about his disappointment over the fact that National Film Bill was yet to be institutionalised.  Similarly, the President of Film Critics Society of Nepal, Yangesh, emphasised that Nepali film industry should maintain its unique language and identity.

“While we criticise the Indian Influence in Nepali Literature, we are ignoring that our films are also being influenced by Bollywood,” Yangesh said.

Yangesh also informed that the Jury of the Awards included all the members of FICSON and was under the leadership of Anup Subedi.

“We have tried our best to felicitate movies and actors by assessing their creativity and uniqueness,” Yangesh said, “We also expect that these appreciations will be imprinted in our history.”

Published: 24-11-2017 08:24

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment