Taskforce submits report on venues for Province-4 parliament, agencies


Dec 11, 2017-

A taskforce formed by the Western Regional Administration Office has submitted its preliminary report concerning the venues for provincial parliament and provincial government offices for Province-4 to the Prime Minister’s Office, with Pokhara as the headquarters. 

The taskforce, led by Assistant Regional Administrator Baburam Gautam, has proposed one of the halls of Pokhara Sabha Griha, Nagar Bikash Prasikshyan Kendra, or the District Coordination Committee Office as the venue for provincial parliament. 

The building of the Immigration Office has been proposed as the office of provincial chief and Regional Administration building as provincial secretariat office. The Agricultural Training Centre has been proposed as the office of the chief minister. 

The offices of speaker, deputy speaker and parliamentary parties, among others, have been proposed in the existing government buildings in Kaski. 

An estimated Rs 175 million will be required to repair and renovate the buildings to set up the offices for provincial government agencies and officials in the province. 

“We have asked the concerned authorities to send money to get the project running,” said Chief District Officer Taranath Adhikari. 

He added that the government can utilise the government land in Pokhara to establish offices of provincial government agencies. 

The taskforce has proposed setting up the ministry offices in Nadipur area, near Nagar Bikash Prasikshyan Kendra. 

“We have proposed converting the regional offices for provincial government agencies,” said Gautam. 

There will be 60-member provincial assembly, comprising 36  members elected under first-past-the-post (FPTP) category and 24 members elected under proportional representation (PR) category, in Province-4.

Published: 11-12-2017 07:36

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment