RJP-N leaders ask President to authenticate ordinance

- Post Report, Kathmandu
Madhesi leaders tell Bhandari their poll victory meant endorsement of their constitution amendment agenda

Dec 27, 2017-Five leaders of the Rastriya Janata Party, Nepal have suggested President Bidya Devi Bhandari authenticate the ordinance on National Assembly election.

The leaders put forth their views during a meeting with President Bhandari at Sheetal Niwas on Tuesday evening. Bhandari has been consulting with political leaders following differences among the major parties over the contents of the ordinance.

RJP-N coordinator Mahantha Thakur and leaders Rajendra Mahato, Rajkishor Yadav, Sharat Singh Bhandari and Anil Jha attended the meeting.

According to Mahato, they suggested that the President should not put on hold the ordinance forwarded by the government, arguing that the constitutional process should be duly followed when the parties fail to forge consensus.

“We reminded the President of the practice of previous national assemblies, which were elected through the Single Transferable Vote system,” Mahato said, arguing that the STV system had already been accepted by the state even though it is not mentioned in the new constitution.

RJP-N leaders told the President that delaying the ordinance would halt the process to form a new government.

President Bhandari congratulated the leaders on their victory in the election. RJP-N leaders replied that their success meant endorsement of their agenda of amending the constitution.

The head of state stressed that time had come to focus on the country’s development 

but the leaders said they would support prosperity and political stability once their issues were properly addressed.

Meanwhile, the party has called a meeting of its political committee to assess the overall poll results and to choose proportional representation candidates. According to Mahato, the meeting would also discuss government formation in Province 2 where the RJP-N and the Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal hold a majority with 54 seats in total.

Published: 27-12-2017 07:37

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment