EC opens listing for upper house

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Dec 29, 2017-

The Election Commission has invited the political parties to register within 15 days for the National Assembly election.

A meeting chaired by Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhee Prasad Yadav on Thursday decided to register the parties within January 12. Political parties listed with EC as per Article 269 of the constitution are eligible to register for the NA election. Among the 125 parties recognised by the poll authority, only 49 were listed for the House of Representatives elections. The parties registered until mid-July are eligible to join process for upper house election.

An electoral college of the members of provincial assemblies and the chair and vice-chair of the local federal units, with 48 and 18 votes respectively, will elect 56 members of the upper house. Three members, including a woman, of the 59-strong Assembly are nominated by the President. At least 22 women will be in the upper house--three from each state and one by nomination. (PR)

Published: 29-12-2017 07:25

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment