NA candidates get election symbols

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Jan 30, 2018-

The Election Commission on Monday provided election symbols to National Assembly candidates, enabling them to launch their campaigns.

With 24 members elected unopposed from the seven provinces, 52 candidates will contest for 32 posts in the Upper House, the EC said in a statement.

In the 59-member Assembly, 56 are elected by an electoral college consisting of Provincial Assembly members and chiefs and deputy chiefs of the local governments.

Three are appointed by the president on the government’s recommendation. Each province elects eight members including three from the open category, three women, one Dalit and one from the disabled or minority community.

According to the EC, six candidates in Province 1, all eight candidates in Province 2, one candidate in Province 4, three candidates in Province 5 and six candidates in Province 7 were elected unopposed. Polling will be held on February 7 for all the eight seats in province 3 and 6 each.

Published: 30-01-2018 08:19

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment