Poll body instructs three parties to correct PR list

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Feb 13, 2018-

The Nepali Congress (NC), the CPN (Maoist Centre) and the Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal (RJP-N) will have to correct their Proportional Representation (PR) lists of candidates submitted by them to be elected to the House of Representatives as they made a mistake to submit the list as per the legal provision.

The Election Commission (EC) on Monday wrote them to correct the list by 5pm Wednesday (February 14), an EC official told the Post. The CPN-UML and Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal have submitted the correct list, according to EC Spokesperson Navaraj Dhakal. 

These five parties had obtained seats in the Lower House under PR category, for crossing threshold of three percent votes. After allocating the seats to these parties, 

the EC on February 9 had given them a three-day deadline to submit the list of candidates to be elected by Monday.  “Among the three parties, the NC made mistake in the naming the candidate to be elected from backward areas while the Maoist Centre made mistake in choosing candidate from disabled community,” said an EC official. “The RJP-N made mistake in selecting candidate from Khas Arya community.”

As per the clause 35 of Directive on PR Election to House of Representatives, the Election Officer can write to the parties to correct the list provided by any party if it fails to ensure representation of 33 percent women in the bicameral federal parliament and proper representation of different communities as per the population as mentioned in the directive.

The parties also cannot elect candidates from lower order from certain community as long as there is candidate in the upper order from the same community. The five parties shared 110 PR seats. The UML received 41 seats followed by NC with 40. Maoist Centre received 17seats while RJP-N and Sanghiya Samajwadi Forum Nepal received six seats each.



NC, RJP-N, SSF-N submit PR lists

The ruling Nepali Congress on Monday submitted its names of its lawmakers under the proportional representation (PR) system at the Election Commission. 

A meeting of party central work performance committee, headed by party President and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, took the decision before submitting the names of 40 lawmakers under the PR system. The Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal and the Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal also submitted their PR lists to the EC on Tuesday.


Published: 13-02-2018 07:47

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment