Yadav, Gharti sworn in as speakers


Feb 15, 2018-

Speaker-elects Saroj Kumar Yadav of Province 2 and Purna Bahadur Gharti of Province 5 took oath of office and secrecy in separate functions organised in Janakpur and Butwal on Wednesday.  

Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal (RJP-N) leader Yadav and CPN (Maoist Centre) candidate Gharti were elected speakers unopposed as no other candidates filed nomination for the posts on Tuesday as scheduled by the provincial assemblies. 

In Janakpur, provincial chief Ratneshwor Lal Kayastha administered the oath to Yadav. Speaker Yadav took oath in Hindi language at a time when some local people have launched a protest in Janakpur against the use of Hindi in the provincial assembly. The protesting locals are of opinion that local mother tongues like Maithili, Bhojpuri should instead be used as official languages in the provincial assembly.

Two Madhes-based parties reached a power-sharing deal earlier in Province 2. As per the agreement, the Sanghiya Samajwadi Forum-Nepal (SSF-N) would the government, while the speaker would be elected from the RJPN. 

In Butwal, Gharti was sworn as the speaker of Province 5 by provincial chief Umakanta Jha. Maoist Centre candidate Gharti was the only candidate filing his nomination on Tuesday.

Published: 15-02-2018 07:51

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment