Province 2 capital row: protesters announce more strikes

- Post Report, BIRGUNJ

Mar 1, 2018-

The committee spearheading a protest campaign against the government’s decision to designate Janakpur as the temporary capital of Province 2 has announced a series of demonstrations and strikes in Parsa, Bara and Rautahat in the coming days.

The committee, which has already been staging a relay hunger strike in Birgunj for the past 57 days, decided to mount pressure on the government to name Birgunj as the provincial capital. 

The protest will start from the day of the Holi festival on Friday with a mass gathering in Birgunj. The committee has also decided to organise rallies and general strike in Parsa, Bara and Rautahat in the near future.

CPN-UML leader Raj Kumar Gupta, CPN (Maoist Centre) leader Baburam Kaushik and Nepali Congress leader Arbinda Gupta, among others, addressed the assembly in Birgunj on Wednesday. The leaders said the government should either make Birgunj the capital of Province 2 or carve out a separate province comprising Parsa, Bara and Rautahat districts.

Published: 01-03-2018 07:19

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment