Joshi, Mishra and Rana on chief justice shortlist

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Mar 28, 2018-

The Judicial Council on Tuesday recommended three senior most justices to the Constitutional Council (CC) for appointment as the chief justice of the Supreme Court.

A JC meeting named Acting Chief Justice Deepak Raj Joshi and Justices Om Prakash Mishra and Cholendra Shumsher Rana based on their seniority for the responsibility, according to Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Sher Bahadur Tamang. Senior most justice Joshi took charge as the acting chief justice after Gopal Parajuli resigned on March 15.

The posts of the chief commissioner and a commissioner at the anti-graft body Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority have been vacant since February 13.

Nabin Kumar Ghimire is the acting chief commissioner of the CIAA after Chief Commissioner Deep Basnyat retired on February 13 on age ground. The five commissioners include Ganesh Raj Joshi, Raj Narayan Pathak and  Sabitri Gurung.

Though the Constitutional Council is almost complete with the election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of House of Representatives, and the Chairman of National Assembly, the Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee (PHSC), which is essential for the appointment of the officials to constitutional bodies, is yet to be formed.

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli’s Chief Political Advisor Bishnu Rimal said the CC would recommend the names for the constitutional bodies and ambassadors as soon as the PHSC is formed.

In the absence of the PHSC, the positions in the constitutional bodies will remain vacant for at least one week. 

The House of Representatives has just formed a parliamentary regulations drafting committee headed by lawmaker Krishna Bhakta Pokhrel and that would take around a week to finalise it. 

The Judicial Council has also decided to draft a working procedure of the Judicial Monitoring and Vigilance Committee within 15 days.

Meanwhile, the most of the new commissions included in the constitution are yet to get their structures.

One of the secretaries of the Ministry for Federal Affairs and General Administration Dinesh Thapaliya said the government has not allocated budget to establish the structures of the newly inducted constitutional commissions, let alone the appointment of their executive body. 

The National Women Commission and National Dalit Commission that were in existence without constitutional status have their structures ready.



Newly inducted constitutional commissions 

1. National Natural Resources and Fiscal ommission

2. National Inclusion Commission

3. Tharu Commission

4. National Dalit Commission

5. Indigenous Nationalities Commission

6. Madhesi Commission

7. Muslim Commission

8. National Women Commission

Published: 28-03-2018 07:54

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment