Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab eye winning start

  • indian premier league
- Agencies, Mohali

Apr 8, 2018-

Delhi Daredevils and Kings XI Punjab will both look to end their trophy drought in the Indian Premier League (IPL) by getting off to a winning start when they clash in Mohali on Sunday.


Daredevils have never won the IPL despite having decent squads on occasions in the past and the same goes for Kings, who also have their trophy cabinet empty after 10 seasons. Under new leaders Gautam Gambhir (Delhi) and Ravichandran Ashwin (Punjab), both teams will want to make a fresh start and make the most of the talent pool they have at their dispossals.


Hosts Kings have the explosive Chris Gayle in their ranks and his exploits in the IPL are well documented. The West Indian, though in the twilight of his career, should fancy his chances with Mayank Agarwal who is likely to open with him. Agarwal will have a point to prove after being snubbed by national selectors for the Sri Lanka tri-series despite amassing more than 2,000 runs during the domestic season.


India opener KL Rahul, the most expensive player of the franchise who will also don the gloves, and Yuvraj Singh should also add teeth to Kings’ batting while the finishing responsibilities will lie on the trio of David Miller, Marcus Stoinis, and Axar Patel. Off-spinner Ashwin, ignored in white-ball cricket since the advent of wrist-spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal, will lead the bowling with Axar being the second spinner and the three pacemen Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma and Ankit Rajpoot.


For Daredevils, a lot will depend on Gambhir who has proved himself to be an astute leader in the T20 format having led Kolkata Knight Riders IPL titles in 2012, 2014. Colin Munro will partner Gambhir up top, while the likes of Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer and Glenn Maxwell will look to add power to their batting. Allrounder Vijay Shankar and Chris Morris are the two allrounders and much will depend on how the latter performs as he is a seasoned campaigner in this format.


A lot of limelight will also be on India seamer Mohammed Shami for his recent off field incidents but he is expected to share the new ball with the New Zealand pacer Trent Boult. In the spin department the Daredevils will rely on Amit Mishra and Shahbaz Nadeem, who have been decent performers for the franchise in the past as well. The likes of Nepal’s leg-spinner Sandeep Lamichhane will be waiting to grab an opportunity if anything goes wrong with the two established bowlers. 


Daredevils on Saturday signed England fast bowler Liam Plunkett to take the place of injured South African paceman Kagiso Rabada. This will be the “first stint” in the IPL for the 33-year-old Plunkett. In the head-to-head count, Kings lead Delhi 11-9.



Delhi: Gautam Gambhir (capt), Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Glenn Maxwell, Kagiso Rabada, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Mohammad Shami, Trent Boult, Colin Munro, Daniel Christian, Jason Roy, Naman Ojha, Prithvi Shaw, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Avesh Khan, Abhishek Sharma, Jayant Yadav, Harshal Patel, Manjot Kalra, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sayan Ghosh


Punjab: Ravichandran Ashwin (capt), Axar Patel, Yuvraj Singh, Karun Nair, Lokesh Rahul, Chris Gayle, David Miller, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Rajpoot, Manoj Tiwary, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Zadran, Barinder Sran, Andrew Tye, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar

Published: 08-04-2018 10:45

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment