All parliamentary committees in place

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Aug 3, 2018-

Five months after its first meeting, the federal parliament has finally formed all its committees.

The House of Representatives (HoR) got its 10 thematic committees on Thursday while the National Assembly (NA) formed four after the opposition Nepali Congress named its members for the respective panels.

Formation of the committees, also called mini parliaments, was delayed as the NC had not provided the lists of its representatives with the ruling parties refusing to give it the leadership of more than one committee.

Among the 16 committees—10 in the HoR, four in the NA and two common—the ruling parties have offered the NC leadership only of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), against four the opposition had been demanding. Chairperson of a parliamentary committee enjoys perks the same as a state minister.

Speaker Krishna Bahadur Mahara proposed names of lawmakers for the 10 committees, which were endorsed by majority votes. In the Upper House, the names proposed by Chairman Ganesh Timilsina for the four committees were also endorsed by a majority.

Two common committees, including the Parliamentary Hearing Committee, represent members from both the Houses. The PHC was formed on July 10.

The Lower House has Finance, International Relations, Industry and Commerce, Law and Justice, Agriculture and Cooperative, Women and Social, State Affairs and Good Governance, Science and Technology, Education and Health, and Public Accounts Committees. The committees oversee the activities executed by different ministries.

The Sustainable Development and Good Governance, Statute Management, National Affairs and Coordination and Government Assurance Committees are under the NA.

Published: 03-08-2018 07:28

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment