Assembly to elect three chairs today

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Aug 29, 2018-

The National Assembly will elect the chairs of three of its four parliamentary committees on Wednesday.

With the nominations of single candidate for chairpersons within the stipulated time on Tuesday, the three thematic committees at the Upper House are set to get their chairpersons on Wednesday. The ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) will be leading three of the four thematic committees and the opposition Nepali Congress will be at the helm of one committee.

The candidacies were filed for three committees on Tuesday. According to NA Secretary Rajendra Phuyal, lawmaker Parshuram Gurung is the lone candidate vying for the Legislation Management Committee chair and Ram Narayan Bidari has filed for the chairperson of Delegated Management and Government Assurance Committee. Lawmaker Dil Kumari Rawal Thapa (Parbati) has filed her candidacy for the National Concern and Coordination Committee chair.

The NC failed to file its candidacy for Sustainable Development and Good Governance Committee on Tuesday as it could not finalise its candidate for the chairperson.

Sources claimed that NC parliamentary party leader Sher Bahadur Deuba was in favour of lawmaker Taradevi Bhatta to lead the Sustainable Development and Good Governance Committee but Bhatta happened to be the member of National Concern and Coordination Committee.

The chairperson of Sustainable Development and Good Governance Committee would be picked after the elections of all three panels.

Elections for the NA panels had been postponed for 10 days as top leaders of the ruling and opposition parties were discussing on sharing the leadership of the parliamentary committees.

Published: 29-08-2018 07:29

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment