Red Star win Pathivara Gold Cup championship

- Aananda Gautam, Taplejung

Sep 2, 2018-

In a clash of Jhapa clubs, Red Star Club edged New Star 2-1 in the final to clinch the Pathivara Gold Cup football tournament title on Saturday.

Skipper Karna Limbu scored the winning goal late in the extra time. The match was extended to 15 minutes of extra time after a 1-1 deadlock in the regulation time. Foreign recruit Glory had provided Red Star the 22th minute lead before Bijay Rai scored the equaliser for New Star in the 72nd minute. Padam Lama of New Star was adjudged the man-of-the-final.

The champions received Rs 3,00,111 and the runners-up took home Rs 1,51,111. Dinesh Thapa of Red Star won the best goalkeeper award while his teammates Glory walked away with the best forward accolade and Bibek Paudel the best player of the tournament. Khamir Gilsen of Red Star was declared the best coach.

Bishal Jardi of New Star Club was adjudged the best defender and his teammate Sanjog Rai the best midfielder. Each of the individual award winners collected Rs 10,000 each.

Published: 02-09-2018 09:01

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment