Ten parliamentary panel chiefs sworn in

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Sep 22, 2018-

The newly elected chairpersons of 10 parliamentary committees under the House of Representatives (HoR) took oath of office and secrecy on Friday.

Speaker Krishna Bahadur Mahara administered the oath at a special function held in Singha Durbar, Kathmandu.

With the election of six women MPs from the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) as the chairpersons of various thematic committees, Parliament now has eight panels led by women MPs.

The six newly elected women chairpersons are Pabitra Niraula for International Relations Committee; Purna Kumari Subedi for Agriculture, Cooperative and Natural Resources; Niru Devi Pal for Women and Social Development; Shashi Shrestha for State Affairs and Good Governance; Kalyan Kumari Khadka for Development and Technology; and Jaypyuri Gharti for Education and Health Similarly, Krishna Prasad Dahal has been elected the chairman of Finance Committee; Bimal Prasa Srivastav of Industry, Commerce, Labour and Consumers’ Welfare Committee; Krishna Bhakta Pokharel of Law, Justice and Human Rights Committee; and Bharat Kumar Shah of Public Accounts Committee. 

Published: 22-09-2018 06:49

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment