Thapa, Thapa Magar set title bout

- Sports Bureau, Kathmandu

Feb 8, 2019-

Chandrakala Thapa of Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) and Sulav Thapa Magar of Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club set the women’s 54-57 weight category title clash of the Bir Ganeshman National Boxing Championships on Thursday.

Chandrakala defeated Nirmala KC of Province 7 and Thapa Magar got the better of Kusum Tamang of Province 3 in a closely-contested bout. Punam Rawal of TAC won the women’s 60-64kg bout getting the better of Aparajita Ghatane of Province 2 and APF pugilist Saraswati Rana dispatched Ashmita Chand of Province 6 in the last four matches.

In the women’s 57-60kg weight division, Sangita Sunar of APF sidelined Sangita Dahar of Province 5 to fix final clash with Sabina Shrestha of Army. Shrestha ousted Som Maya Limbu of Province 1 in the other semi-final match. Minu Gurung of TAC and Nisha Tamang of Nepal Police Club (NPC) will compete for the women’s 51-54kg final.

Gurung beat Teji Gurung of Province 2 and Tamang beat Sanju Maya Thing of APF. Diwana Sherma of NPC overwhelmed Lalita Maharjan of TAC in the 46-48kg weight category and will meet Sushila Thapa of Province 5. Thapa earned a walkover win from Sushma Tamang of Province 3.

In the men’s 64kg weight category, Suresh Nepal of TAC, Bhupendra Thapa of NPC and Sonam Karki of APF made it to the semi-finals. Nepal defeated Kishor Sharma of Province, Thapa overpowered Bishal Regmi of Province 5 and Karki saw off Abhinaya Rai of Province 1. They will be joined by Indra Sunar of Province 6 after he defeated Pawan Gurung of Province 4 in the quarter-final.

Another Armyman Bishnu Prasad Ghale entered the 69kg semi-final beating Sabin Gurung of Province 4. In other quarter-finals of the weight category, Bikash Lama of APF defeated Province 6 boxer with the same name, Rajesh Gurung of Province 1 knocked out Hemraj Chaulagain of Province 5 and Manish Dangol of Province 3 eased past Basanta Bahadur Singh of Province 7.

Suman Karki of APF booked the men’s 75kg semi-final berth seeing off Ganesh BK of Province 5. He will be joined by Deepak Shrestha of TAC and Diwesh Bhumilal of Province 3. Shrestha beat Anil Thapa Magar of Province 4 and Bhumi Lal was too strong for Birendra Bahadur Shahi of Province 7. In the men’s 81kg, Rabi Sunar of Army earned walkover victory from Prashil Ruchal of Province 1. Keshar Khatri of Province 5 will join him the last four following a victory over Gokul Gurung of APF.

The five-day tournament organised by the Bir Ganeshman Singh Foundation will give away Rs 25,000 to winners in each weight category. The first and second runners-up will take home Rs 15,000 and Rs 7,500 respectively. The best male and female boxers will ride a motorcycle and a scooter.

Published: 08-02-2019 13:28

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment