All eighteen dead in NAC plane crash: CAAN (Update with pics)

  • Bodies airlifted to Capital, 7 recognised
- Ekantipur Report, KATHMANDU
All eighteen dead in NAC plane crash: CAAN (Update with pics)

Feb 17, 2014-

All eighteen people on board the ill-fated Nepal Airlines twin otter that crashed at Dhikura VDC in Khachikot of Argakhanchi district were killed, Civil Aviation Authority of Nepal confirmed.

All dead bodies were recovered at the crash site in Masine Lek of the village. Among the deceased, seven bodies have been identified so far.

Bodies of Nepal Army Major Deepak Shrestha, Nepali Congress Jumla President Manav Sejuwal, Barsha Hamal, Sahish Hamal, Dibesh Shahi, Muna Maharjan and Rejendra Chaulagain have been recognised.

A MI-17 chopper of Nepal Army and two other helicopters of Simrik Air were deployed for rescue operation. The dead bodies were airlifted at the Tribhuvan Internation Airport this afternoon, officials said.

The bodies were strewn all over the hill. The rescue workers comprising personnel of Nepal Army, Nepal Police and Armed Police Force had difficulty in collecting the bodies due to high altitude, snow and chilling cold.

The crash site is 45 km from the district headquarters, Sandhikharka, and two hours steep walk from Narapani of Sandhikharka-Gorusinghe road stretch.

The Jumla-bound aircraft had gone missing since Sunday afternoon minutes after it took off from Pokhara Airport 12:43.

The 9N-ABB aircraft that was scheduled to land at 1:45pm at Jumla Airport had last contacted air traffic control (ATC) tower of Bhairahawa at 1:13pm asking permission for diverting the plane.

The wreckage of the state-owned national flag carrier was found this morning.

The crew members of the ill-fated aircraft include Captain Shankar Shrestha, co-pilot Rabindra Banjara and Air hostess Muna Maharjan.

Likewise, the names of other passengers who were abord the plane have been confirmed and are listed below:

1. Manab Sejuwal 

2. Rajendra Devkota

3. Tek Bahadur Mahatara

4.  Nanda Mahatara

5.  D Mahatara

6. Gauri Kathayat

7. Dr. IB Pokhrel

8. Barsa Hamal and his child

9. BP Upadhyay 

10. U Tamang

11. R Chaulagain

12. ID Shrestha

13. D Neupane

14. DR Sah

15. M Mathiesen (Danish national)



  (Photo courtesy- Armed Police Force)






Published: 17-02-2014 11:37

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News