Leaders agree 'in principle' on seven-state model

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Aug 21, 2015-

Top leaders of the major four parties, in principle, have agreed to demarcate the nation into seven federal provinces in a meeting of the Political Dialogue and Consensus Committee held on Friday. However, the leaders are yet to find consensus regarding Kailali district, some Mid-Western and Tarai districts.

The leaders agreed on revising their earlier stand of six-state model after protests flared up in Surkhet, Karnali and Tharu region against the model. However, Prime Minister Sushil Koirala is reportedly against delineating the country to seven-states.

The parties have agreed on moving ahead with the 7-point proposal tabled by Nepali Congress and CPN-UML regarding the demarcation of states, with amendments.

Another meeting of the top leaders is scheduled for 1pm this afternoon, to finalise the agreement, after Prime Minister Sushil Koirala and CPN-UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli exited the meeting early.

Likewise, Constitution Drafting Committee Chairman Krishna Prasad Sitaula informed that if the parties agree on the seven-state model before the committee meeting scheduled for 4 pm today, the committee will submit the final version of the constitution to Constituent Assembly Chairman Subas Nembang today itself.


Published: 21-08-2015 14:07

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News