7-member SC bench formed to hear IGP case

- Post Report, Kathmandu

May 18, 2017-Supreme Court has formed a bench comprising seven justices to hear on Nepal Police Inspector General appointment row.

The bench will also hear on the case filed by DIG Nawaraj Silwal seeking court's order to stop action against him.

The bench includes justices Devendra Gopal Shrestha, Cholendra Shamsher JBR, Jagadish Sharma Poudel, Dip Kumar Karki, Kedar Prasad Chalise, Sapana Pradhan Malla and Tej Bahadur KC.

DIG Silwal had filed a case at the apex court after government appointed Jaya Bahadur Chand as IG. SC quashed government's appointment and directed it to make the appointed based on merit and seniority.

Government then appointed Prakash Aryal as new police chief arguing he had received highest marks on the score of performance evaluation. Silwal against knocked SC's door against the appointment.

When Silwal was arrested on charges of forging performance report, SC ordered the government to stop action against him.

A Nepali Congress and CPN (Maoist Center) coalition filed an impeachment motion against Chief Justice Sushila Karki accusing her of interfering in the jurisdiction of executive and failing to issue verdicts without being prejudiced. The motion has since been stayed by an interim order by Supreme Court.

Published: 18-05-2017 12:29

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment