PM Deuba expands Cabinet inducting 19 new ministers

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Jul 26, 2017-

More than a month and a half after he was appointed to the top executive post, Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba on Wednesday expanded his Cabinet by inducting 19 new ministers.

PM Deuba today appointed ten ministers from his party Nepali Congress, six from CPN (Maoist Centre), two from Madhesi Janadhikar Forum-Loktantrik and two from CPN (United).

President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly appointed ministers at Sheetal Niwas this afternoon.

Though PM Deuba wanted to expand his Cabinet on Tuesday, failure to address intra-party feud over ministerial berths led to cancellation of the plan.

Nepali Congress


Names  Portfolios
Bhimsen Das  Minister for Defence
Bir Bahadur Balayar  Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport
Yagya Bahadur Thapa  Minister for Law
Min Bishwokarma  Minister for Commerce
Mohan Basnet  Minister for Information and Communications
Sanjay Gautam  Minister for Irrigation
Ram Krishna Yadav  Minister for Agriculture
Rajan KC  Minister for Youth and Sports   
Ambika Basnet  Minister for Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation
Mahendra Yadav  Minister for Drinking Water and Sanitation 

CPN (Maoist Centre)  
Names Portfolios
Girirajmani Pokharel  Minister for Health
Mahendra Bahadur Shahi  Minister for Energy
Tek Bahadur Basent  Minister for General Administration
Shiva Kumar Mandal  Minister for Supplies
Santa Kumar Tharu Chaudhary  Minister for Livestock Development
Asha Khanal Koirala  Minister for Women, Children and Social Welfare

Madhesi Janadhikari Forum-Loktantrik  
Jitendra Narayan Dev Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation
Gopal Dahit  Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transportation

CPN (United)  
Mithila Chaudhary  Minister for Population and Environment

Deuba had formed a small Cabinet by inducting seven ministers including three Deputy Prime Ministers (DPMs) after being elected as 40th Prime Minister of Nepal on June 6.

From Nepali Congress, Gopal Man Shrestha was appointed as the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Education, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki and Farmullah Mansoor were appointed as Minister for Finance and Minister for Labour and Employment respectively.

Likewise, Krishna Bahadur Mahara of CPN (Maoist Centre) was appointed as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Similarly, CPN (MC) leader Janardan Sharma was appointed as Minister for Home Affairs and Prabhu Sah was appointed as minister without portfolio.

Published: 26-07-2017 16:57

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News