Maoist ministers resign en masse

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Jan 12, 2018-

CPN (Maoist Centre) ministers have quit the government on Friday.

Former Health Minister and minister withour portfolio Girirajmani Pokharel submitted the resignation of all the ministers from the CPN (MC) to Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba after today’s cabinet meeting.

The resignation from CPN (MC) ministers comes almost three months after PM Deuba stripped of their responsibilities protesting the party’s electoral alliance with the CPN-UML in the recently held federal and provincial assembly elections.

Prime Minister Deuba on October 17 stripped 16 ministers, including seven state ministers, from the Maoist Centre of their responsibilities as the party refused to quit the government even after siding with the opposition UML before the polls.

The Maoist Centre faced a lot of criticism from different quarters for sticking to power and enjoying ministerial perks even as their work was not required. The party had reasoned that their presence in the government was essential to ensure that all the elections are held on time.

Published: 12-01-2018 12:56

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News