EC submits NA election results to president

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Feb 12, 2018-

The Election Commission on Sunday handed over the results of the National Assembly elections to President Bidya Devi Bhandari. 

Under Clause 59 of the ordinance on National Assembly elections, the EC is required to submit such report to the President upon the publication of the election results.

Issuing a press statement on Sunday, the poll body said that Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhee Prasad Yadav informed the President that the commission would submit results of the House of Representative elections within the third week of February.

The Upper House elections held for 56 seats out of 59, elected 27 candidates from CPN (UML), 13 from Nepali Congress, 12 from CPN (Maoist Centre), two each from Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal and Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal.

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba on Saturday recommended three names—Gopal Basnet, Krishna Paudel and Chandani Joshi—to President’s Office to be picked for the Upper House.

The results of the National Assembly elections have now cleared the way for the EC to announce final results of the House of Representatives elections under the 

proportional representation category.

Even after the conclusion of Lower House elections on December 7, the EC has not yet made public the results, saying that a constitutional provision does not allow it finalise the PR seats before the results of the Upper House elections. 

Published: 12-02-2018 07:57

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News