Inter-District, Makwanpur win

  • Khukuri Challenger Twenty20
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Feb 13, 2018-

Inter-District Sports Club and Makwanpur Cricket Club completed the quarter-final lineup for the Khukuri Challenger Twenty20 cricket tournament on Monday.

In the final round of Group ‘D’ games, Inter-District beat Tikapur Cricket Club by six wickets and Rautahat Rising XI defeated Makwanpur by five runs at the Mulpani Cricket Grounds. The results meant Inter-District, Makwanpur and Rautahat finished on equal nine points from four matches. However, Inter-District topped the group followed by Makwanpur in second on the basis of better net run-rate. Rautahat joined Tikapur and Butwal Cricket Boys on the sidelines.

Put into bat first, Tikapur were dismissed for 119 in 16.1 overs despite an entertaining half century knock from opener Rabindra Jung Shahi. Inter-District overcame the total for the loss of four wickets in 18.5 overs. Shahi fought a lonely battle for Tikapur as he almost single-handedly dragged the team’s total past three figures. He was the seventh Tikapur batsman to be dismissed with the score at 114. Shahi struck nine boundaries and a six in his 47-ball innings. Apart from Shahi only Rajan Serchan (11)

was able to score runs in double figures. Man-of-the-match Sagar Bhandari was pick of the Inter-District bowlers with figures of 4-14, while Aviraj Roy and Durgesh Kurmi took two wickets each.

In reply, Manjil Gurung and Sher Malla ensured victory for Inter-District with their unbeaten knocks. Gurung scored a fluent 32 off 35 balls and Malla made 15-ball 28. Arif Ahmad and Prakash Jayse earlier chipped in 20 runs each to ease the chase. Subash Singh Thakuri claimed two, while Prakash Rawal and Prakash Neupane snared one wicket apiece for Tikapur.

Earlier in the first match, Rautahat defended a lowly 100-9 by restricting Makwanpur for 95-8 in 20 overs. However, Makwanpur still pipped Rautahat to advance into the last eight. Aashu Kandoi (19), Ravi Sah (18 not out), Shankar Patel (16) and Sunil Mishra (12 not out) were the key contributors with the bat. Ashim Shrestha, Hari Chauhan, Ravi Thapa and Robin Gurung took two wickets each for Makwanpur.

Makwanpur lost half their batsmen for 21 runs before 39-run stand between Suraj Patel (29) and Suman Sunar (22) led the rescue effort. But the dismissal of Patel and Sunar saw Makwanpur eventually finish agonising short of the target.

Man-of-the-match Patel, Mishra and Sashi Keshari claimed two wickets each for Rautahat.

Shantinagar Youth Club, Kathmandu Cricket Training Centre from Group ‘A’, Baluwatar Cricket Club and Royal PC Fighter from Group ‘B’ and Great Himalaya Cricket Academy and Tribhuvan Army Club from Group ‘C’ have already made it to the quarter finals.

Published: 13-02-2018 10:31

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment