Three NA members take oath of office

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Mar 10, 2018-

Three National Assembly (NA) members Yubaraj Khatiwada, Bimala Poudel Rai and Ram Narayan Bidari took their oath of office and secrecy at the NA meeting hall around 11 o’clock Friday morning.

Nepal President Bidya Devi Bhandari nominated them after recommendation by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli’s government.

NA senior-most member Tara Devi Bhatta administered the oath to the three members.

A division bench of Supreme Court Justices Kedar Prasad Chalise and Sarada Prasad Ghimire on Wednesday ordered the government to allow the three members of the NA recommended by Oli-led government to take the oath of office and secrecy paving the way for their swearing-in today that was stalled on Sunday. 

Despite being sworn in as the NA members, the Oli government-recommended three NA members will not be able to take part in the upcoming presidential elections.

Election Commission spokesperson Nawaraj Dhakal informed that the three new NA members will not get an opportunity to vote in the president’s election as voters list has already been published last Tuesday.

Dhakal said there is still a chance for the trio to cast their votes if the office of the President’s Election Officer writes to the EC seeking their participation in the presidential election.

On February 25, the bench of Justice Prakashman Singh Raut had issued an interim order directing the government not to administer the oath of office and secrecy to the three NA members nominated by president on the recommendation of Oli government.

Though the swearing-in was stalled, Khatiwada has been appointed as Finance Minister.

Published: 10-03-2018 08:24

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News