Province 5 CM expands Cabinet


Mar 20, 2018-

Province 5 Chief Minister (CM) Shankar Pokharel expanded the Cabinet by appointing three more ministers on Monday. Three-member government, including CM Pokharel, was formed a month ago.

The CM appointed Sudharshan Baral from Gulmi and Lila Giri from Rupandehi as Social Development Minister and Minister for Industry, Tourism, Forest and Environment respectively. He also appointed Aarati Paudel from Banke as Minister for Land Management, Agriculture and Co-operatives.

The three ministers later took oath of office and secrecy from Province Chief Umakanta Jha in presence of CM Pokharel. They also assumed offices the same day.

It took time to expand the Cabinet due to the lack of office buildings for the ministries. Rammani Campus in Tilottama, Western Nepal Bus Entrepreneurs Committee and Rupandehi Chamber of Commerce and Industry made available their buildings for the three new ministries.

Observers say it will be easier for the government to execute its work with the Cabinet expansion. “Government work will gather momentum now with the expansion of the Cabinet. Buildings for all ministries and quarters have been managed,” said Physical Infrastructure Development Minister Baijanath Chaudhary, who is also the government spokesperson.

Sources said the provincial government plans to split existing seven ministries to ten. CM Pokharel has been working to split the ministries to manage aspirants desiring ministerial berths.

CM Pokharel, the parliamentary party leader of the CPN-UML, plans to include a few leaders of the UML and Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal in the Cabinet. “We have to split some ministries. We will decide which ministries to divide after holding talks,” said UML chief whip Bhumishwor Dhakal.

Published: 20-03-2018 08:44

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News