Home Minister Thapa, NA Chair Timilsina get 6-yr term; FinMin Khatiwada gets 2-yr

  • Terms of NA members determined through lottery
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Jun 18, 2018-

The tenures of Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa and National Assembly (NA) Chairman Ganesh Timilsina has been determined for six years, while Finance Minister Yubaraj Khatiwada drew a token for two-year term.

The National Assembly finalised the tenures of its members through a lottery method held at Federal Parliament in Baneshwor, Kathmandu on Monday.

Today’s lottery has determined the term of opposition party Nepali Congress lawmaker Surendra Pandey for two years, while the term of Nepal Communist Party lawmaker Dinanath Sharma has been fixed for four years.

Nepal Communist Party lawmaker Shashikala Dahal’s term has been fixed for four years.

The term of women members—Bina Pokharel, Pramila Kumari, Dil Kumari Rawal, Deepa Gurung, Anita Devkota, Nanda Chhapai and Indu Kadariya was determined for six years. 

Similarly, Nainkala Ojha, Shashikala Dahal, Udaya Sharma Poudel, Shanti Kumari Adhikari, Komal Oli and Taradevi Bhatta would serve as NA members for four years. 

Likewise, the term of Sarita Prasain, Mukta Kumari Yadav, Dhan Kumari Khatiwada, Binda Devi Ale, Mina Budha, Yutal Tamang and Kamala Kumari Oli has been determined for two years. 

Of the 59 NA members, 56 were elected from seven provinces—eight from each province, with three others being nominated by the President on the recommendation by the government.

All the clusters were divided into three categories of two years, four years and six years and the lawmakers should pick one of the three categories.

The lottery draw selected 19 NA members with two-year term, 20 members with four-year term, and 20 members with six-year term.

Published: 18-06-2018 13:49

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News