Ruling party picks leaders of seven provincial panels

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Sep 22, 2018-

The ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has selected its seven provincial committee heads as the party gears up formation of its lower committees.

A meeting of the NCP secretariat on Friday appointed those in charge of the provincial panels, their deputies, chairpersons and secretaries.

The task had been delayed due to the busy schedule of the party’s top leadership, mainly Co-chairmen Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

The leadership selection process was also marred by growing factionalism in the party formed after unification between the erstwhile CPN-UML and the CPN (Maoist Centre).

According to NCP members, the leaders in charge will be responsible for overall management of the party in the province while the chairperson handles the party’s day-to-day affairs.

The NCP leaders said the top two positions have been divided between leaders from the former UML and Maoist Centre except in Provinces 1 and 7.

“Leadership of the seven provinces includes those in charge, their deputies, chairpersons and secretaries selected unanimously,” said Ishwor Pokhrel, an NCP central secretariat member. He also said the provincial leadership would expedite the task of constituting other lower committees including the party’s 77 district committees.

The party leadership has tried to satisfy major factions within the party while appointing the provincial leadership. Of the seven provincial chiefs, four are close to PM Oli, two are from the Madhav Nepal faction, and one from the former Maoist party.

Bhim Acharya and Asta Laxmi Shakya, who have been given the charge of Provinces 1 and 3, respectively, are known to be close to senior leader Nepal.

When the party selected chief ministers of these provinces, both Acharya and Shakya were two top contenders. However, leaders close to Oli were appointed as chief ministers.

In Province 1, the party has selected Devraj Ghimire as its chairperson, Sabitri Kumar Kafle as the joint in-charge and Suresh Bahadur Rai as the secretary.

Satya Narayan Mandal has got the charge of the party’s Province 2 organisation while Prabhu Sah chairs the committee. Biswonath Sah and Suman Pyakurel have been named joint-in-charge and the secretary, respectively.



Province 1

In-charge    Bhim Acharya

Chairperson    Devraj Ghimire

Joint-in-charge    Sabitri Kumar Kafle

Secretary    Suresh Bahadur Rai

Province 2

In-charge    Satya Narayan Mandal

Chairperson    Prabhu Sah

Joint-in-charge    Biswonath Sah

Secretary    Suman Pyakurel

Province 3

In-charge    Asta Laxmi Shakya

Chairperson    Hitman Shakya

Joint-in-charge    Narayan Dahal   

Secretary    Ananda Pokharel

Province 4

In-charge    Prithvi Subba Gurung

Chairperson    Hitraj Pande

Joint-In-charge    Khagaraj Adhikari

Secretary    Govinda Nepali

Province 5

In-charge    Shankar Pokharel

Chairperson    Onsari Gharti

Joint-In-charge    Dal Bahadur Rana

Secretary    Jag Prasad Sharma

Province 6

In-charge    Janardan Sharma

Chairperson    Gorakh Bahadur Bogati

Joint-in-charge    Yamlal Kandel

Secretary    Maya Prasad Sharma

Province 7

In-charge    Bhim Rawal

Chairperson    Karna Thapa

Joint-in-charge    Laxman Dutta Joshi

Secretary    Nepa Chaudhary

Published: 22-09-2018 07:39

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News