Rana, Koirala advance to semi-finals

  • Mahika Rana returns to Anne Mathema during the Lalitpur District Open Tennis Championships semi-final match in Lalitpur on Sunday.
- Post Report, Lalitpur

Sep 24, 2018-

Rana sisters, Mayanka and Mahika, along with Prerana Koirala and Abhilasha Bista advanced to the women’s singles semi-finals of the third Lalitpur District Open Tennis Championship on Sunday.

Held at the Satdobato Lawn Tennis court, Mayanka dispatched Aslesha Lissanevitch 6-2, 6-2 while Koirala eased past Prakriti Shrestha 6-0, 6-1. Mahika battled to 7-6, 6-1 win over Anne Mathema and Bista won her quarter-final match after Ira Rawat retired hurt trailing 7-6, 4-2.

In the men’s singles first round matches, Nic Rastrup rallied from a set down to beat Pranab Khanal 1-6, 6-3, 6-2, Nishan Shrestha battled to a 7-6, 7-5 win over Subrat Basnet, Pradeep Khadka beat Ivanhoe Lissanevitch 6-2, 6-3, Kamal Bhandarai defeated Bhisma Jung Gurung 6-1, 6-0, Mahesh Shrestha inflicted a double bagel on Nim Waan Rai and Santosh Khatri got the better of Bijay Maharjan 6-0, 6-1. Nabin Magar and Jetendra Pariyar got walkover wins. Magar was scheduled to play Nabin Bahadur Shah while Pariyar was up against Muktisen Gurung.

Santosh Khatri and Pariyar team up to beat Subrat Basnet and Muktisen Gurung 6-0, 6-1 to enter the men’s doubles semi-finals. Joining them in the last-four were the Mahesh Shrestha and Manoj Rana, Pradip Rana and Nabin Pun, and Kamal Bhandari and Pranab Khanal.

Published: 24-09-2018 10:32

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment