Nepal rails against ‘unilateral decision’ of Oli-Dahal leadership

- TIKA R PRADHAN, Kathmandu
enior leader of Nepal Communist Party accuses party Co-chairmen Oli and Dahal of appointing their loyalists to key posts in seven provinces

Sep 29, 2018-Expressing displeasure over the latest decision of Nepal Communist Party (NCP) Secretariat to finalise the leaderships of all seven provincial committees, senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal has registered his official reservation with the party.

Nepal on Friday hosted a tea reception in Kathmandu, where he told the gathering of the standing committee members about his discontentment over the party leadership.

He told the standing committee members that he had officially lodged his grievances at the party office, claiming that he will not accept the decision that was taken by flouting the party’s regulation.

The meeting of the NCP Secretariat on September 21 had finalised the provincial leaderships of the party while leader Nepal and party Spokesperson Narayan Kaji Shrestha were out of the country.

The two leaders were earlier told by the party leadership that decisions regarding the leadership of provincial committee would be taken upon their arrival.

Nepal accused NCP Co-chairmen Oli and Dahal of breaking the promise and hand-picking leaders close to them.

He accused Oli and Dahal of taking unilateral decisions without taking other leaders into confidence.

“Even when the party and the government are facing severe criticism from different sections of the society, the top leadership has not convened the standing committee meeting to discuss the issues,” he said.

Leaders close to Nepal have also accused the party leadership of flouting provisions of the party’s statute. As per the statute, all the decisions related to the unification of the party should be taken in consensus. They were referring to the NCP Secretariat decision of selecting provincial leaderships of the party.

They also said one-leader-one-post rule was not followed as the chairman duo had appointed two Chief Ministers-- Shankar Pokhrel of Province 5 and Prithvi Subba Gurung of Gandaki Province as the party in-charge of their respective province.

As many as 25 standing committee members, including Subash Nembang, Dev Gurung, Barshaman Pun, Bamdev Gautam, Yogesh Bhattarai, Ghanashyam Bhusal and Surendra Pande, were present at the tea reception. Leaders including Deputy Prime Minister and Defence Minister Iswor Pokharel, General Secretary Bishnu Poudel, Mani Thapa and Devendra Poudel skipped the event.

Out of nine, only two secretariat members Narayan Kaji Shrestha and Bamdev Gautam were in the meeting besides Nepal.

Published: 29-09-2018 08:13

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News