Bibeksheel Sajha Party blames Ujwal Thapa for party split

- Sanjaya Lama, Kathmandu

Jan 15, 2019-

Bibeksheel Sajha Party has said that the party was split intentionally. A Central Committee meeting of the party held for two days at its party office in Bakhunldole concluded that then coordinator Ujwal Thapa split the party deliberately.

Speaking at a press conference organised to make public the meeting decisions, party spokesperson Surya Raj Acharya said, “One of the party coordinators tried to split the party intentionally and registered a new party by snubbing the central committee meeting for the same reason.”

He said that the party takes the split as an unexpected and sad incident.

Thapa along with 16 central members on Friday had filed an application at the Election Commission to register a new party accusing Rabindra Mishra, another coordinator of the party, of running the party by ignoring basic values, being power centric and carrying out financial irregularities.

According to spokesperson Acharya, the meeting has decided to hand over the responsibility to Mishra to make a summary of the report on party split.

Similarly, the meeting concluded that the split has not affected the party leadership in all provinces, district and local levels, he said.

Saying that the split has created dilemma to voters and well-wishers, he said that Bibeksheel Sajha Party will organise activities in various levels soon.

Meanwhile, the party has decided to hold national assembly in Kathmandu on January 26 to discuss challenges seen after the split and to make future planning.

Likewise, the party has decided to organise a public programme at City Hall on January 27.

Similarly, the party has decided to hold general convention in February next year. The Central Committee meeting has decided to hold the convention on February 27-March 2, 2020.

Acharya said that the two-day meeting held on Monday and Tuesday had decided to pick province coordinator, add central members, form sister organisation, reform party central department and divide responsibilities.

Anil Bhetwal has been appointed as the coordinator of Province 1. Shailu Shrestha has been appointed as the woman central member of Sudurpachin Province, Saraswati Panthi Bhusal and Sushila KC have been appointed as the women central member of Province 5 and Gandaki Province respectively, Acharya said.

Similarly, Bibeksheel Sajha youth organisation has been formed under the headship of Abdus Miya and Bibeksheel Sajha woman organisation has been formed under the leadership of Sobhit Pariyar.

Amid growing rift in the Bibeksheel Sajha Party leadership, the new group that gained respectable support in the elections last year as an alternative political force, split 18 months after unification on January 11.


Published: 15-01-2019 19:10

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News