Pulchowk pip Madhyapur as Shree Kumari shock RCT


Feb 15, 2019-

Pulchowk Sports Club beat Madhyapur Youth Association 2-1 in the Martyrs Memorial ‘B’ Division League at the ANFA complex in Satdobato on Thursday.

The victory lifted Pulchowk atop the Group ‘B’ standings with two win out of two matches while Madhyapur remain fourth in the six-team pool after their the defeat. Both Madhyarpur and Shree Bhagwati Club have three points but the later stay third on better goal difference.

Ramkaji Kumal put away an easy through ball in the ninth minute that ended up going through Madhyapur goalkeeper Rijen Heka’s legs in one-on-one situation. In the 32nd minute, Pulchowk custodian Rembo Chaudhary denied Bikesh Duwal a freekick attempt at goal from the edge of the area with a brilliant dive to his right. Pulchowk extended their lead in the 35th minute after Tika Raj Gurung stepped in and netted a penalty which was awarded when Raj Shrestha tripped Pulchowk’s Arjun Kumar Rana.

Three minutes after the break, Madhyapur goalkeeper Heka made another good save to deny Arjun Rana’s goal-bound header on a Min Bahadur Gurung freekick. In the 52nd minute, Madhyapur capitalised on a freekick they were awarded a few yards from the area courtesy a foul by Bishnu Ale Magar on Pradip Lamsal. Lamsal picked himself up to convert the freekick beyond the reach of the diving goalkeeper Chaudhary.

Tika Raj Gurung could have done much better than just heading off target in a Bishnu Ale Magar corner in the 66th minute. Madhyapur failed to dispatch one of their better chances at goal in the 84th minute as Subrana Bikram Karki’s soft touch was chested away by defender Sangam Khand Thakuri almost from the goalline. The Pulchowk defence seemed flustered during the dying stages of the game conceding six corners in the final 10 minutes. Fortunately, for Pulchowk none of the opportunities were converted to goal.

In another match of the day, Shree Kumari Club rallied from two goals down to stun Ranipokhari Corner Team (RCT) 4-2. Sansar Nanda Palanchoke gave RCT the ninth minute lead before Unam Budathoki doubled their tally scoring int eh 17th minute. Sujan Maharjan cut the deficit scoring in the 34th minute with a superb solo effort jinking past three RCT defenders before putting the ball into the nets. Ganesh Baduwal levelled the scores in the 55th minute bfore Maharjan struck for the second time to put Shree Kumari ahead. Bishal Tamang completed a remarkable turn around adding the fouth goal for Shree Kumari two minutes from time.

Published: 15-02-2019 08:07

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment