NCL Women’s T20 League announced

  • Begum replaces Bhatta
- Sports Bureau, Kathmandu

Feb 16, 2019-

A day after a city-based women’s franchise league was announced, NCL Sports Pvt Ltd came up with their won franchise competition in the shorter version of the game—NCL Women’s Twenty20 Cricket League—on Friday.

The four-team city-based franchise league will be held on March 15-23 at the Baijnathpur ground in Biratnagar. On Thursday, Pokhara Premier League organisers Queen’s Event Management Pvt Ltd had announced the Women’s Champions League—a five-team league.

Jay Raj Roy, the President of NCL Sports, said further details of the tournament will be disclosed in the days to come. “We are doing our homework for this tournament and have been in talks with the national women’s team coach Binod Das and other stakeholders. Once we finalise this we will come up with further information,” said Roy.

According to Roy, each team will have a marquee player and cricketers will picked up through auction. NCL said it will also work in bringing in men’s and age-group cricket leagues. National women’s team coach Das was happy with back-to-back announcement of the league. “The day when we landed in Kathmandu after competing in the Women’s Twenty20 Smash, I had said that Nepal needs women leagues. Its quite a pleasant surprise to get two leagues are starting so early,” said Das. “We were having a chat about it over whether we can do it or not. We would like to thank the organisers for coming up with this daring act. We are happy to coordinate with NCL Sports for this tournament. This is a beginning and lets hope the government will work in ending the deadlock in the cricket administration to make sure Nepal institutionalises efforts like these,” added Das.

After going through almost four testing years without proper domestic tournament, national women’s team skipper Rubina Chhetri was delighted to get another league. “There used to be time when there was nothing for women’s cricket. Tourna-ments like this will help us immensely,” said Rubina.  “We are happy because getting more matches will give us more confidence in international events. We will have events to play. Tournaments like these helps us stick to the game,” added Chhetri.

Published: 16-02-2019 10:49

More on this story

Dolly Bhatta was replaced with Apasari Begum as Nepal on Friday announced a 14-member final squad for the ICC Women’s Asia Qualifier scheduled to be held in Thailand on February 18-27.

The seven-team Asia Qualifier sends the winners into the 2019 ICC Women’s Global Qualifier for the 2020 ICC Women’s Twenty20 World Cup and 2021 ICC Women’s 50-over World Cup.

Begum was the only change in the Nepali squad that competed in the Thailand Women’s Twenty20 Smash in Bangkok held from January 11-19.

Rubina Chhetri will continue to lead the Nepali team that comprises of Sita Rana Magar, Karuna Bhandari, Sarita Magar, Nary Thapa, Indu Barma, Sonu Khadka, Aarati Bidari, Kajal Shrestha, Roma Thapa, Kabita Kunwar, Begum, Mamta Kumari Chaudhary and Bindu Rawal. Bhatta has been kept reserves along with Ritu Kanoujiya, Suman Bist and Anjali Chand. Binod Das is the coach who will be assisted by Neera Rajopadhyaya. Amrita Paudel is the manager and Sakuna Dani is the physiotherapist.

Nepal will play against hosts Thailand, the United Arab Emirates, China, Oman, Malaysia, Hong Kong and Kuwait in the round robin league. They will begin their tournament campaign with the match against Malaysia on February 19 and play Thailand on 21st.

The third match is scheduled against the UAE on February 22 and fourth against Hong Kong on 24th. The matches against China and Kuwait will be played on February 25th and 27th respectively.

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment