College Cricket League Twenty20 from today

- Sports Bureau, Kathmandu

Mar 24, 2019-

University Cricket Club is organising the College Cricket League Twenty20 cricket tournament from Sunday at the Tribhuvan University Grounds.

The eight-day league-cum-knockout tournament will be participated in by 12 teams with the champions getting Rs 222,222 and the runners-up taking home Rs 111,111.

The tournament has been declared open also for Nepal’s international cricketers who can represent the participating colleges.

The tournament was previously organised as University Cricket Cup for the first two editions. While the man-of-the-series will get Rs 25,000, the best batsman and the bowler will get Rs 10,000 apiece. Every man-of-the-match will also get a shoe worth Rs 5,000 from Xtep.

Club President Suman Raj Karki said the motive of the tournament was to produce quality cricketers from college level. “We are in an attempt to regularly give a quality tournament for at college level. Since Nepal’s international cricketers will be participating in the event, the youngsters will get a much-needed exposure,” said Karki.

“This is just the continuation of the effort from the past years. We are looking ahead to modify the tournament and make it more professional at the same level in coming years,” added Karki.

The participating teams have been divided into four groups with the top place finishers from each pool after the round robin league competing in the semi-finals scheduled for March 30. The final will be held the next day.

Group ‘A’ consists of Orchid International College, Kantipur City College (KCC) and Triton International College with Kathmandu University, Nepal Bon College and Tri Chandra Campus in Group ‘B’. Pool ‘C’ includes Nepal Commerce Campus, Himalaya College and Shankar Dev Campus. Golden Gate International College, Tribhuvan University and Omega International College are in Group ‘D’.

The estimated cost of the tournament is Rs 3 million. In the inaugural match, Orchid will take on KCC and Kathmandu University will be up against Nepal Bon College in the second game. Nepal Commerce Campus and Tribhuvan University were the winners of the first two editions.

Published: 24-03-2019 10:23

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment