10 out of 17 'A' category players fetch top price

- PRAJWAL OLI, Kathmandu

Apr 1, 2019-

Nepali women cricketers went under the hammer in Kathmandu on Sunday for the NCL Women’s Twenty20 League scheduled for April 2027 in Biratnagar.

A total of 10 cricketers among the 17 listed in ‘A’ category drew the highest bidding amount of Rs 75,000 from the four franchise teams: Dhangadhi Wonder Women, Kathmandu Super Champions, Bhairahawa Queens and Biratnagar Roaring Lioness.

National team captain and marquee player of Queens Rubina Chhetri said the first ever women’s franchise league in the country could pave way for a much need professional set-up in domestic women’s cricket. “This is just a beginning and will hugely boost the struggling women’s cricket in Nepal. I urge others to follow the suit to organise such events to lift the Nepali women’s cricket. I hope the event to be the regular feature in domestic cricket,” she said adding she just too excited to be part of the new beginning.

Cricketers with the experience of playing for the country for at least two years were listed in ‘A’ category, which had the base prize of Rs 40,000 and the maximum ceiling of Rs 75,000. It was mandatory for all teams to enrol at least three ‘A’ category players but not more than four.

Players who represented national teams for shorter during or those called for closed camp training or the age-group national players will listed in ‘B’ category. The ‘B’ category had the base prize of Rs 25,000 with maximum price set at Rs 50,000. The ‘C’ category consisted a pool of rookie cricketers with base prize of Rs 15,000 with maximum big amount set at Rs 25,000. In all, 80 cricketers including 25 in ‘B’ category and 38 in ‘C’ category had registered for the auction.

National cricketers Mamta Chaudhary, Sarita Magar and Roma Thapa went to Kathmandu Super Champions for Rs 75,000. The Super Champions, owned by actress Rekha Thapa, has veteran cricketer Nary Thapa as their marquee player.  Super Champions were lucky to get the players through lucky draw after all four franchise raised their flag for Thapa while three teams except for Biratnagar had flagged for Chaudhary and Magar.

Nepali internationals Sonu Khadka, Indu Berma and Bindu Rawal were brought for maximum amount bidding amount of Rs 75,000 by Bhairahawa Queens. Three teams except for Kathmandu had raised their flags for Berma at Rs 75,000 while Khadka had got bidding from Dhangadhi and Rawal from Kathmandu before she was drawn for Queens. They were also the lone bidders for ‘A’ category’s Saraswoti Chaudhary and obtained her for a base prize of Rs 40,000.

Kajol Shrestha and Apsari Begum were bought for a maximum amount by Biratnagar Roaring Lioness while they obtained Kanoujiya for Rs 65,000 and Dolly Bhatta at base price of Rs 40,000. Shrestha had also got highest bidding amount from Queens and Champions. Kabita Kunwar and Jyoti Pandey went to Dhangadhi Wonder Women for maximum bid amount while they obtained Sabnam Rai of Rs 70,000. Three teams apart from Lioness went for the maximum bidding amount for Kunwar while Queens were also in the race for Pandey. Wonder Women got Sangita Rai for Rs 40,000.

Laxmi Chaudhary and Aarati Bidari were the only players left unsold in ‘A’ list but were sold for base prize during the wish list. The wish list was made open from unsold players as all four franchise failed to complete their full quota of 13 players.

Published: 01-04-2019 10:19

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment