Thapa elected RPP-N chairman

Thapa elected RPP-N chairman

May 28, 2014-

Kamal Thapa has been elected as the chairman of Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP-N) for the second term with a thumping majority from the party’s first ever general convention that concluded on Tuesday.

Of the total vote cast, Thapa secured 1,542 votes while his competitor and founding leader of the party Padma Sundar Lawati managed to get just 168 votes. Lawati had filed his candidacy for the post claiming that his leadership was necessary to control the party from derailing from its core ideological principle.

Lawati had been expressing displeasure publicly against the party leadership for adopting soft stance on monarchy. The party which had been advocating for constitutional monarchy and Hindu state compromised its stance and decided to go for symbolic or cultural monarchy.

Lawati was also demanding for ‘one person one responsibility’, claiming that Thapa, who is parliamentary party leader, should not be given the chairmanship.

“The result is rejection of the extremist view in the party,” said a newly-elected central committee member seeking anonymity. “It has given a mandate that the party should transform with changing contexts notwithstanding its core party ideology.”

Of the total 1,877 voters, only 1,710 of them cast votes to elect a chairman and 63 Central Committee (CC) members. Among 239 candidates, Dhawal Sumsher Rana has got the highest numbers of votes (1,158), followed by Rajendra Prasad Lingdel (1,107) and Bhaskar Bhadra (1,068). However, the party’s chief whip Dil Nath Giri, lawmaker Dinesh Shrestha and former CC member duo Rup Singh Thapa and Gopal Dahal were defeated in the election.

The convention has also decided to expand the 41-member CC to 127-member one. Among the CC members, 63 have been elected directly while remaining will be nominated by the chairman. Similarly, the chairman will also nominate joint-chairman, vice-chairman, general-secretary, deputy general-secretary and spokesperson from those elected to the CC. The party reserved 20 seats for women, four for Madhesi, five for Janajatis, two each for Dalits and Karnali region and one for the foreign committee. The RPP-N had used Electronic Voting Machine made by the Nepali scientists.

Published: 29-05-2014 09:22

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment