NPC win women’s league

NPC win women’s league

Sep 24, 2014-

Nepal Police Club (NPC) clinched the Women’s National League in Narayangadh on Wednesday.

In an all-departmental team final the Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) made NPC labour for their  5-3 victory which was decided on penalties after a goalless stalemate in normal play and 1-1 deadlock after 30 minutes of extra time.

The Police team walked away with Rs 2,00,000 top prize while runners-up TAC received Rs 1,00,000.

The match was forced into the extra time but both scored a goal each to head for the decisive penalty shootout.  Bhujunga Rai had provided TAC the lead in the 107th minute but their lead did not last longer as Yosadha Lama levelled the score for NPC three minutes later.

Lama, Ghim Kumari Gurung, Menuka Giri, Amrita Jaisi, and Niru Thapa were on the target for the Police team while Anita Kunwar, Dipa Singh Chettri and Bhujunga Rai scored for TAC from the spot. Skipper Anjali Waiba miss target fir TAC.

Lila Lamgade of the Army team (goalkeeper), Ghim Kumar Gurung (defender), Niru Thapa (forward) and Sandesh Shrestha (coach ), all three of the NPC along with  Anita Basnet of Armed Police Force (mid-fielder) won the individual awards that earned them Rs 25,000 each.

Published: 25-09-2014 09:46

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment