Seven Janajati parties form youth squad

- Roshan Sedhai, Kathmandu

Feb 11, 2015-

Alliance for Identity Based Federalism, a coalition of seven Janajati parties, has formed a special youth squad to add energy to its ongoing struggle for identity-based federalism. The youth squad will be formally introduced on Thursday in a programme that will be attended by, among others, UCPN (Maoist) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

The youth squad will comprised the young members from Social Democratic Party Nepal, Rastriya Janamukti Party, Nepal Rastriya Party, Sanghiya Limbuwan Party Nepal, Tharuhat Tarai Party Nepal, Khumbuwan Rastriya Morcha and Adivasi Janajati Party Nepal.

The alliance, backed by the Padma Ratna Tuladhar-led Adivasi Janajati Rastriya Andolan (Ajra) and the youth squad, plans to intensify its protest in the coming days.

Sources say the youth squad was formed on the suggestion of Maoist Chairman Dahal to Tuladhar.

Following low supporters’ turnout during the demonstrations organised by Ajra in the recent past, the leaders advocating for single identity-based federalism were under tremendous pressure to either withdraw their agendas or come up with a stronger protest.

Pasang Sherpa of the Social Democratic Party said the youth squad will compel the ruling Nepali Congress and CPN-UML to comply with the alliance’s demands.

Published: 12-02-2015 09:26

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment