Tamang siblings lead Army club dominance

  • Krishna Mohan Memorial Badminton Championships
  • Ratnajit, Sara Devi clinch singles titles for the fourth consecutive year
- POST REPORT, Kathmandu
Tamang siblings lead Army club dominance

Mar 1, 2015-

Tamang siblings Ratnajit and Sara Devi continued their dominance in the Krishna Mohan Memorial Badminton Championship after clinching the trophy for the fourth consecutive years on Sunday.

In the repeat of last edition’s final, Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) recruit Ratnajit saw off clubmate Bikash Shrestha 21- 19, 21-16 to claim the men’s singles championship. With the win Ratnajit also walked away with Rs 60,000. Runner-up Shrestha received Rs 30,000.

TAC clinched the women’s singles title too after Sara Devi prevailed over her younger sister and clubmate in final held at the Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) headquarters in Halchowk. Sara Devi overcame Nangshal Devi 21-12, 21-12.  Sara was rewarded with Rs 50,000 and runner-up Nangshal received Rs 25,000.

Ratnajit and Sara Devi teamed up in the mixed doubles to register a comfortable 21-9, 21-9 win over Bishal Pradhan and Binu Tulachan of APF. Tamang siblings pocketed Rs 40,000.

In the women’s doubles final, Tamang sisters downed the duo of Sikshya Shrestha and Prativa Gurung of APF 21-9, 21-12. Ratnajit teamed up with Ram Rai in the men’s doubles final to beat clubmates Suroj Maharjan and Dipesh Dhami 21-17, 21-19. The men’s doubles champions won Rs 60,000 and the runners-up got Rs 30,000. Winner and the runners-up in the women’s doubles were awarded with Rs 40,000 and Rs 25,000.

The Army club also kept their stranglehold in the age-group category events, bagging the Under-17 boys’ and girls’ singles along with the doubles titles.

Nabin Shrestha made light work of Riyaz Ansari of Banke 21-14, 21-18 in the U-17 boys’ singles final. In girls’ U-17 title match, Jessica Gurung nailed clubmate Megha Chand 21-11, 21-16. Ratnajit and Sara Devi teamed up in the mixed doubles to record a 21-9, 21-9 win over Bishal Pradhan and Binu Tulachan of APF.

The duo f Prem Chand and Ganesh Chand of Nepal Police Club (NPC) overcame Shailendra Khanal and Prem Kumar Shrestha 21-9, 21-15 to lift the inter-governmental service above 45 years doubles title. The Chand duo also triumphed in the above 34-year doubles event, dispatching Narayan Dutta Poudel and Chet Singh Thapa of APF 10-21, 21-12, 21-14.

APF secured the veterans above 45-year title as Subash Shrestha and Bhumi Bahadur Gurung beat Narayan Shakya and Hari Prasad Shrestha 21-18, 21-17. Ramesh Bhattachan and Subash Rai of Kaski downed APF’s Puspa Tamrakar and Mahesh Shrestha 21-19, 14-21, 21-19 in the veterans above 55-years doubles title match.

Published: 02-03-2015 08:43

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment