45 parties registered with EC for local elections


Feb 2, 2017-

Only 45 parties will be able to participate in the local elections, the dates for which the government says will announce “soon”, if the Election Commission (EC) does not allow additional time for registration.

The deadline for parties to register to participate in the local elections ended on Monday. 

A total of 111 political parties are registered with the EC to carry out political activities. 

As per Article 269 of the constitution, political parties must register themselves with the EC for conducting political activities as well as participating in the elections. 

“Only the parties that have registered themselves will be able to participate in the elections if the EC does not allow more time for registration,” said Gopinath Mainali, secretary at the EC.

According to the election body, the least number of parties (six) have been registered Manang district. Kathmandu tops the list with 45 parties in the district registered with the EC. 

The number of parties registered in Tarai districts is high, according to the EC. 

The election body on January 8 had asked political parties to get registered at its regional or district offices by January 30 to participate in local elections. 

The low number of political parties registered with the election body by the set deadline could come as a boon for the EC, as it had said earlier that it would face difficulties while printing ballot papers if the number went up.

Published: 02-02-2017 08:20

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment