After seeing the four sights from birth till death, one could only be happy if they gave up on worldly life that was full of suffering

May 19, 2017-Gautam Buddha was born on a full moon day in 534 BC, in Kapilvastu of Nepal. He also achieved nirvana and eventually left the world on the full moon day of Baishakh Shukla Purnima. Last week, we thus celebrated the full moon day as Buddha Jayanti.

It is believed that Gautam Buddha was born near a pond in the Lumbini garden. And immediately after his birth, he took seven steps towards the north and raised a finger in the air, indicating that he is the supreme of the world.

He was initially known by the name Siddartha Gautam. Siddartha grew up as a prince. He was married to a princess called Yasodhara at the age of sixteen and had a son named Rahul. He lived a luxurious life of a prince till the age of 29. But, he was to give up all the luxury really soon.

His life changed dramatically when he saw the four passing sights: an old man who has helpless due to his age, a sick man who was helpless due to a disease, a dead man whose corpse was being carried to the burial, and a homeless monk who was homeless. 

After Siddhartha saw the four sights he realised that from birth till death one could only be happy if they gave up on worldly life that was full of suffering. 

He thus decided to pursue a life that was free of all the attachments with people, money and luxury. 

On his journey to enlightenment he tried many methods and ways but found no answer. One day, he found a fig tree and started to meditate under it. He committed to not get up until he found his answers. He meditated under the tree for 49 days. It took him six years to attain enlightenment and become Buddha. 

After he got enlightened, he spread his knowledge to many people and helped them in leading a happy life. An important part of the wisdom he spread is the four noble truths. 

The First Truth is suffering, pain, and misery are all part and parcel in life. The Second Truth is that this suffering is caused by selfish craving and personal desire. The Third Truth is that this selfish craving can be overcome. The final truth is: Freedom from suffering is possible by practicing the Eightfold Path made of Right view, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness and right concentration. 


- Smera Singh

Grade 9


Published: 19-05-2017 08:56

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment